360AWARD winners

The seven scholarship winners at this year’s 360AWARDS were (from left) Danielle Smith, Wayne High School; Bethany Carey, Concordia High School; Hayden Mullett, Carroll High School; Alijah Slate, Wayne New Tech; Brandon Stuckey, Snider High School; Isaiah Franklin, North Side High School; and Aaron Berghoff, Bishop Dwenger High School (not pictured).

Seven students from Fort Wayne high schools received a scholarship during the fifth annual 360AWARDS on Sept. 13.

The awards, hosted by the RespectTeam, are an opportunity for high school students in public, private, parochial and home schools in northeast Indiana to be honored for making a positive difference in their home, their school and their community.

The organization educates students at no cost at schools throughout northeast Indiana on the topics of healthy self-respect and respect of others. It also seeks to engage students with their communities through connections with organizations and businesses that serve as resources for teenagers and their families.

This year’s event was decade themed, and attendees dressed in attire from their favorite decade. Curtis Smith, corporate director of community engagement at Parkview Health, emceed the event. Speakers included Amy Hanna, executive director of the RespectTeam; Emily Eshbach, student board vice president; Genesis Click, student board community advocate; and Tonya Weaver, RespectTeam board education liaison.

Twenty-eight students from 19 schools across five counties were nominated for an award this year. Of those 28, five received a crystal award courtesy of Indiana Signworks, a gift from Stephen Shannon Jewelers and a bundt cake tower courtesy of Nothing Bundt Cakes. Attendees were treated to a catered dinner and a live reading of the nominations of the students. A virtual live stream was also available for registered attendees that were not able to attend in person.

Five of the student finalists received $1,000 scholarships courtesy of Chuck and Lisa Surack and Sweetwater Sound, and two of the student finalists received $500 scholarships courtesy of Three Rivers Federal Credit Union.

The finalists included:

• Danielle Smith, Wayne High School

• Bethany Carey, Concordia High School

• Hayden Mullett, Carroll High School

• Alijah Slate, Wayne New Tech

• Brandon Stuckey, Snider High School

• Isaiah Franklin, North Side High School

• Aaron Berghoff, Bishop Dwenger High School

Next year’s 360AWARDS will be on Sept. 12. Nominations for the 2021 360AWARDS will open on March 1. Donations for RespectTeam school programming can be made at RespectTeam.com/donate.

The organization is currently taking applications for its 2021 TeenSpeak event through Dec. 1. TeenSpeak, open to all middle and high school students, is “an opportunity for you to use your voice to speak up and speak out, and share your story of strength.”

Participants will be trained on public speaking by local and national experts. Students will then have the opportunity to speak in front of a live audience at Sweetwater’s performance auditorium. Applications can be found at RespectTeam.com.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.